News | February 13, 2018

Sally Burdon Named New President of the International League of Antiquarian Booksellers

At the Ordinary General Meeting on 4th February 2018 the presidents of ILAB’s national member associations voted for Sally Burdon (Australia) as new ILAB President. She succeeds Gonzalo F. Pontes who served as President from 2016 to 2018; and will be supported by ILAB Vice??President Fabrizio Govi (Italy).

Sally Burdon is very familiar with the work of ILAB. She has been part of the ILAB committee since 2014 and served as Vice-President under Gonzalo F. Pontes for the past two years.

Ms Burdon was instrumental in organizing the two large, international World Book & Copyright Day campaigns in 2015 and 2016. These fairs motivated booksellers on all continents to promote the trade in their respective countries and to raise over 20,000 Euros for UNESCO’s literacy work in South Sudan.

She is co-convener of the ILAB International Mentoring Programme which was launched in December 2016 to a successful start. Ms Burdon is dedicated to bookseller education, supporting future generations of booksellers through programmes such as the Mentoring Scheme and to the promotion of high standards throughout the trade.

Sally Burdon is a member of the Burdon family of antiquarian booksellers, in effect she was a bookseller in training from the age of 10. After a period of living overseas, she returned to Canberra in 1982 and started working full time in the family business now known as Asia Bookroom. She is a past President of the Australian and New Zealand Association of Antiquarian Booksellers (ANZAAB), served on the faculty of the Colorado Antiquarian Book Seminar for 3 years and has organized conferences on bookselling in Australia.

In further elections, the presidents voted for Stuart Bennett as General Secretary, he follows Michel Bouvier (France) in this position.

Anne Lamort (France) and Pavel Chepyzhov (Russia) became new members of the ILAB Committee.

Norbert Donhofer was elected President of Honour.

ILAB Committee 2018
President: Sally Burdon (Australia)                                                                                    

Vice President: Fabrizio Govi (Italy)                                                                                 

Treasurer: Rob Shephard (UK)                                                                                           

General Secretary: Stuart Bennett (US)                                                                              


Anne Lamort (France)

Michael Graves-Johnston (UK)

Robert Schoisengeier (Austria)

Pavel Chepyzhov (RU)

Immediate Past President: Gonzalo F. Pontes (Spain)