News | July 27, 2021

The 2021 Alice Award Short List Announced

Courtesy of Furthermore

Hudson, New York — Furthermore grants in publishing, a program of the J. M. Kaplan Fund, is pleased to announce the 2021 Alice Award Short List:
The Art of Winold Reiss: An Immigrant Modernist
 New-York Historical Society

E. McKnight Kauffer: The Artist in Advertising
Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum

 Printing the Revolution: The Rise and Impact of Chicano Graphics, 1965 to Now
 Smithsonian American Art Museum

Strata: William Smith’s Geological Maps
University of Chicago Press

The $25,000 Alice Award will be announced on Thursday, September 9 on the Furthermore website. The Alice Award is being presented in a program at the Strand Bookstore, Monday, October 25 from 6:30 to 8:30 pm. The presentation of the awards will be streamed through the Strand Bookstore.  

Furthermore received a high number of submissions for the 2021 Alice, including books that have received funding from Furthermore and are automatically considered for the Award. The books receiving awards meet the criteria of the Alice as being “well-made illustrated books, that afford a special sense of intimacy.” When the awards are presented this year, $295,000 will have been given to institutions in support of illustrated publication.        

R.O. Blechman, Illustrator
Teresa Carbone, Program Director for American Art, Henry Luce Foundation
David R. Godine, Publisher
Sharon Helgason Gallagher, President & Publisher, Artbook/D.A.P.
William P. Kelly, Andrew W. Mellow Director of the Research Libraries, New York Public Library
Max Rudin, Publisher, The Library of America
Ian Wardropper, Director, The Frick Collection
Pauline Willis, Director and CEO, American Federation of Arts
Chair: Jock Reynolds, Former Director, Yale University Art Gallery