News | September 21, 2022

2022 Alice Award for Illustrated Books Winner Announced

Courtesy of Furthermore grants in publishing

Hudson, NY — Furthermore grants in publishing, a program of the J. M. Kaplan Fund, is pleased to announce the 2022 Alice is awarded to Alphawood Foundation, Chicago, IL for its publication, Reconstructing the Garrick: Adler & Sullivan’s Lost Masterpiece (Alphawood Foundation, Chicago, 2021). The beautifully illustrated, 352-page book was edited by John Vinci with Tim Samuelson, Eric Nordstrom, and Chris Ware, and designed by Chris Ware.

Courtesy of Furthermore grants in publishing

Reconstructing the Garrick: Adler & Sullivan’s Lost Masterpiece (Alphawood Foundation, Chicago, 2021).

The $25,000 Alice Award will be presented to Alphawood on Monday, October 24 in the Rare Book Room at the Strand Book Store in New York City. This year marks the tenth anniversary of the Alice. Since the award was first presented at the Morgan Library in 2013, $340,000 has been given to Alice recipients and books shortlisted for the Alice.

Joan K. Davidson, Founder and President of Furthermore and the Alice, commented: “The Alice recognizes and encourages the well-made illustrated book in which word and image carry equal weight. The illustrations clarify, illuminate, enhance, and are essential to the book’s aspiration and achievement. In Reconstructing the Garrick, the Alice Jury recognized a publication that had achieved all the aspirations that define the Alice and result in a book that is truly exemplary.”

Chirag G. Badlani, Executive Director of Alphawood Foundation, in being told of the award said “I am thrilled that Reconstructing the Garrick has received this well-earned recognition from the Alice Award Jury. The Alice is a testament to the incredible efforts of John Vinci, Tim Samuelson, Eric Nordstrom, and Chris Ware to bring to the public a greater appreciation of Adler & Sullivan’s ‘Lost Masterpiece,’ both through the visually stunning book and related exhibition on the Garrick Theater at Wrightwood 659 in Chicago.  We are proud to have served as publisher.”   


Chair: Ian Wardropper, Director, Frick Collection 

Chair Emeritus: Jock Reynolds, Former Director, Yale University Art Gallery 

R. O. Blechman, Illustrator

Teresa A. Carbone, Program Director for American Art, Henry Luce Foundation

David R. Godine, Publisher

William P. Kelly, Andrew W. Mellon Director Emeritus, Research Libraries, New York Public Library

Max Rudin, President & Publisher, Library of America

Pauline Willis, Director and CEO, American Federation of Arts


Since 2013 there have been 30 publications shortlisted for the Alice Award, each receiving $5,000.

Pioneer Works Art Foundation (Brooklyn, NY). Pòtoprens: The Urban Artists of Port-au-Prince. Edited by Leah Gordon and Joshua Jelly-Schapiro and designed by Daniel Kent and Jesse Johanning. Published by Pioneer Works Press in 2022.

Cleveland Museum of Art (Cleveland, OH). Private Lives: Home and Family in the Art of the Nabis, Paris, 1889-1900. By Mary Weaver Chapin and Heather Lemonedes Brown and designed by Tom Barnard. Published by the Cleveland Museum of Art in 2021.

Art Institute of Chicago (Chicago, IL). Ray Johnson c/o. Edited by Caitlin Haskell with Jordan Carter and designed by Irma Boom. Published by the Art Institute of Chicago in 2021.

Museum of Modern Art (New York, NY). Sophie Taeuber-Arp: Living Abstraction. Edited by Anne Umland and Walburga Krupp with Charlotte Healy and designed by Mark Nelson/McCall Associates. Published by The Museum of Modern Art, New York, and Kunstmuseum Basel in 2021.