Lots of auction action coming up at the end of the week: On Thursday, October 17, ALDE sells…
The Litquake Literary Festival is taking over San Francisco from October 10th through the 19th,…
The American Library Association (ALA) released the longlist for its 2020 Andrew Carnegie Medals…
Our Bright Young Librarians series continues today with Jesse Erickson of the University of…
While most museums aim to attract visitors by filling their rooms with the authentic possessions…
Here are the sales I'll be keeping an eye on this week: Christie's Paris will hold a sale of…
Back in August, Alex Johnson filed this report for us about the rise of bookish podcasts in the…
A revealing, four-page letter written by Jane Austen to her sister Cassandra will go to auction in…
Lots of action in the auction rooms this week, with a number of sales focused on photographs:…
Tucson, AZ — The University of Arizona Center for Creative Photography has acquired the archive of…
Boston — The extraordinary ‘Book of Mormon’ carried to the moon on Apollo 16 by Commander John…
Los Angeles — The U.S. experienced a number of major changes during the first half of the 20th…
New York — Early Printed, Travel, Scientific & Medical Books comes to Swann Galleries on…
Dallas, TX – A signed carte de visite from legendary American frontiersman Kit Carson is just one…
London — To mark its move to new premises in Bloomsbury, Bernard Quaritch Ltd., one of London’s…
Paris – Christie's Books department is pleased with today’s results totaling €2,5 million. After…
New York — The New York Public Library will present a rare glimpse into the life and work of author…
Dayton, OH – Eli Saslow’s Rising Out of Hatred, which chronicles the awakening of a prominent young…
A selection of horror fiction paperbacks from the author’s collection.

Collecting Paperbacks from Hell

Rebecca Baumann

Fans of Stephen King, Anne Rice, and V. C. Andrews are pioneering a new collecting area.

Bev Rogers with her books

UNLV Alumna Endows Book Curator Position with $5-Million Gift

Barbara Basbanes Richter
Las Vegas is home to more than glitzy casinos and pawn shops: the city can now claim a robust special collections program at nearby University of Nevada Las Vegas (UNLV), thanks in part to a $5-million endowment recently established by alumna
Anna Katharine Green's That Affair Next Door

Library of Congress Launches Crime Classics Book Series

Washington, D.C. — Three titles will launch the Library of Congress Crime Classics Series in spring 2020. Cover designs were inspired by images from the Library's collections.
Charlotte Brontë watercolor

Byron & the Brontës on Display

Alex Johnson
Newstead Abbey in Nottinghamshire, England, the now publicly owned ancestral home of Lord Byron, has just opened a new exhibition of objects on loan from the Brontë Parsonage Museum in Haworth showing the influence that Byron had